You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

History in Transition: The Revolution in Retrospect


History is not always the same. Its meaning is fought and haggled over, as is the case with the revolutionary events which took place from 1918 to 1923. In the GDR (East) and the Federal Republic of Germany (West), remembering the past was and is shaped by the social, political and cultural conditions of the particular present.

Retrospection in the GDR

Historical scholarship is of interest in legitimizing the ruling SED's claim to power and is therefore partly subject to the state party’s influence. The evaluation of the events of 1918/19 and the revolutionary period that follows, do not remain unaffected by the circumstances. The relationship to them is ambivalent. On the one hand, they are the founding context of the KPD, and on the other, looked at from a Communist perspective, the German revolution failed when compared to the October Revolution in Russia. According to Walter Ulbricht, referring to Stalin, the compromise is to speak of “a bourgeois revolution using proletarian means”. In Erich Honecker's time, there is no longer any talk of “proletarian means”. In both cases, the focus is on criticism of the treacherous actions of the right-wing leaders of Social Democracy and positive references to Rosa Luxemburg and Karl Liebknecht. According to official interpretation, the right-wing SPD leaders succeeded in winning the councils over to their side thus favoring the emergence of a bourgeois class society, despite the efforts of the Spartacus League to point the way towards socialism. The foundation of the KPD is regarded as the most important achievement during these revolutionary times, while the founding of the Weimar Republic, in contrast to opinions in the Federal Republic of Germany, is not considered a success, but as a defeat, because it blocks the way towards a communist future. Only a Marxist-Leninist cadre party could have helped the proletariat to victory. With the foundation of the GDR, the goals of the revolutionary workers finally count as being fulfilled. In Erich Honecker’s words: “The development and growth of our socialist German nation state, is the fulfillment and the living legacy of the revolutionary struggles in November, 1918.” Whether the revolutionary uprisings are judged as "socialist" or "bourgeois-democratic" does not depend on the supporters of these uprisings, but on the results. Only in the last years before the fall of the Berlin Wall, the interpretations of the Revolution are permitted to become more diverse.

Retrospection in the Federal Republic of Germany

During the post-war years, the assessment of the revolution in the Federal Republic of Germany is marked by the fear of Bolshevism and the rejection of socialism. In 1918/19, the general opinion is whether the revolution would lead to a proletarian dictatorship or a parliamentary republic in alliance with the deposed conservative rulers. In the 1960s, historians begin to highlight the democratic and emancipatory potential of the left-wing workers' councils. The role of the Social Democrats is now being critically questioned and possible alternatives for action by the Majority Social Democratic Party (MSPD) are discussed. It is taken into account that the outcome of many revolutionary events between 1918 and 1923, is not always certain. Since the 1980s and in the post-reunification period, the revolution has received little or no attention. The new openness that became apparent in the historiography of the GDR has come to a sudden end.

Today, the revolution above all, is a projection screen of unfulfilled wishes and hopes, but also of a great deal of doubt and uncertainty. The 100th anniversary of the revolution has led to increased attention being paid to the November-Complex and the years 1918-1923. The field of tension which has opened up between the interpretation of the history of democracy and the history of dictatorship, still offers ample material for discussion.

die naTo e.V. 2020

You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Geschichte im Wandel: Die Erinnerung der Revolution


Geschichte ist nicht gleich Geschichte. Um ihre Bedeutung wird gestritten und gefeilscht. So auch um die Erinnerung an die revolutionären Ereignisse von 1918-1923. In der DDR und der BRD war und wird das Erinnern an die Vergangenheit von den sozialen, politischen und kulturellen Rahmenbedingungen der jeweiligen Gegenwart geprägt.

Erinnerung in der DDR

Die Geschichtswissenschaft ist für die Legitimation des Herrschaftsanspruchs der SED von Interesse und unterliegt deswegen in Teilen dem Einfluss der Staatspartei. Die Bewertung der Ereignisse von 1918/19 und der darauffolgenden revolutionären Aufstände bleibt davon nicht unberührt. Das Verhältnis zu diesen ist ambivalent. Einerseits sind sie der Gründungskontext der KPD, andererseits ist die deutsche Revolution aus kommunistischer Perspektive, im Vergleich zur Oktoberrevolution in Russland, gescheitert. Unter Walter Ulbricht, der sich auf Stalin bezieht, wird der Kompromiss gefunden in der Historiographie von einer „bürgerlichen Revolution mit proletarischen Mitteln“ zu sprechen. Zu Zeiten Erich Honeckers ist von den „proletarischen Mitteln“ dann keine Rede mehr. In beiden Fällen steht die Kritik am verräterischen Handeln der rechten Führer der Sozialdemokratie sowie die positive Bezugnahme auf Rosa Luxemburg und Karl Liebknecht im Fokus. Der offiziellen Interpretation nach sei es den rechten SPD-Führern gelungen – trotz der Bemühungen des Spartakusbundes, den Weg Richtung Sozialismus zu weisen – die Räte für sich zu gewinnen und damit die Entstehung einer bürgerlichen Klassengesellschaft zu begünstigen. Als wichtigste Errungenschaft wird die Gründung der KPD betrachtet. Die Gründung der Weimarer Republik hingegen gilt – anders als in der BRD – nicht als Erfolg, sondern als Niederlage, weil sie den Weg in eine kommunistische Zukunft verstellt. Nur eine marxistisch-leninistische Kaderpartei hätte dem Proletariat zum Sieg verhelfen können. Mit der Gründung der DDR seien die Ziele der revolutionären Arbeiter*innen endlich erfüllt worden. Erich Honecker dazu: „Das Werden und Wachsen unseres sozialistischen Staates deutscher Nation ist das erfüllte und lebendige Vermächtnis der revolutionären Novemberkämpfe von 1918.“ Ob die revolutionären Erhebungen als „sozialistisch“ oder „bürgerlich-demokratisch“ bewertet werden, hängt in der DDR schlussendlich nicht von den Träger*innen dieser ab, sondern von dem Ergebnis. Erst in den letzten Jahren vor dem Mauerfall werden die zulässigen Interpretationen der Revolution vielfältiger.

Erinnerung in der BRD

Während der Nachkriegsjahre ist die Beurteilung der Revolution in der BRD oft durch die Angst vor dem Bolschewismus und die Ablehnung des Sozialismus geprägt. 1918/19, so der Tenor, sei es darum gegangen, ob die Revolution in eine proletarische Diktatur oder eine parlamentarische Republik im Bündnis mit den abgesetzten konservativen Machthaber*innen münde. In den 1960er Jahren beginnen Historiker*innen das demokratische und emanzipatorische Potenzial der linken Arbeiter*innenräte hervorzuheben. Auch die Rolle der Sozialdemokrat*innen wird nun zunehmend kritisch hinterfragt und mögliche Handlungsalternativen der Mehrheitssozialdemokratischen Partei (MSPD) werden diskutiert. Es wird berücksichtigt, dass der Ausgang vieler revolutionärer Ereignisse zwischen 1918 und 1923 nicht immer feststand. Seit den 1980er Jahren und in der Nachwendezeit findet die Revolution wenig bis gar keine Beachtung. Die neue Offenheit, die sich in der Historiographie der DDR abzeichnet, findet ein jähes Ende.

Heute ist die Revolution vor allem eine Projektionsfläche unerfüllter Wünsche und Hoffnungen, aber auch vieler Zweifel und Ungewissheiten. Das 100-jährige Jubiläum führt zu vermehrter Aufmerksamkeit gegenüber dem Novemberkomplex und den Jahren 1918-1923. Das Spannungsfeld, welches sich zwischen der demokratiegeschichtlichen und der diktaturgeschichtlichen Deutung öffnet, bietet nach wie vor viel Diskussionsstoff.

die naTo e.V. 2020