You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Taverns and Allotment Gardens


The Tavern between Precondition and Doom for the Labour Movement

Since the founding of the German Empire, taverns have been the most important places for Leipzig’s workers for socializing, communication and politics for the wider public. They serve as alternative living rooms and provide the necessary space for choral, educational and gymnastics clubs. Taverns bring a sense of community and belonging, manifest professional and neighbourly relationships, contribute to defining and constituting social identity through the collective patterns of behaviour that dominate in them. Until the completion of the Leipzig Volkshaus in 1906, located today in the Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse, and the ceremonial inauguration of the extension building on May 1st, 1923, with over 40,000 participants, meeting in taverns and larger restaurants is also the basis for trade union and social democratic organization.

But the tavern is not a socio-cultural institution without its own problems. Although women are not completely excluded from the male-dominated and the restricted public sphere of the tavern and often hold important positions as innkeepers, they are usually denied the opportunity to participate in union and political activities. This stabilizes patriarchal gender relations and excludes women as important potential collaborators. Equally excluded are all those who are critical or hostile towards the labour movement or who are not familiar with the specific patterns of tavern behaviour.

Leipzig Taverns in the Revolution

During the revolutionary period, restaurants serve as meeting places for revolutionary groups, information exchanges and post offices. As early as April 1917, 10,000 striking metal and armaments workers meet in the "Brauereigarten" (Brewery Garden) in Stötteritz. Here they establish the first German workers' council. In the winter of 1918/19, the revolutionary Sailors' Company finds its quarters in the "Tivoli" in the Windmühlenstraße and in the "Deutsches Haus", the Workers' and Soldiers' Council meets in December, 1918. This council also holds its meetings in the "Centraltheater". In 1919, the "Katerschenke" in today's Merseburger Straße hosts the Free Socialist Youth group. In March, 1920, the "Goldener Stern" in today's Bornaische Straße, establishes itself as the headquarters in the fight against the Kapp-Putsch, and between 1920 and 1930 the newly founded "Rote Hilfe" (Red Aid) finds its headquarters at "Metropol" in the Gottschedstraße. On May 14th, 1920, the women's rights activist and communist politician Clara Zetkin speaks in Plagwitz in the "Felsenkeller". The "Himmelsleiter" in today's Industriestraße becomes the central courier office during the March Battles of 1921.

New Free Time

Due to the successful fight for the eight-hour workday and entitlement to holidays, new recreational activities become possible. The longer evenings and the weekends, extended now to include Saturday afternoon, make recreation and having fun an everyday need. The increase in mobility and the improvement of living conditions in the Weimar Republic also gradually change the possibilities of leisure activities. Going to the cinema, excursions out into the countryside and gardening are very popular. Allotment gardens become the epicenters of many people’s lives after a hard day’s work. Leipzig is the citadel of allotment gardening: In 1923, 114 allotment associations exist in Leipzig with over 25,000 members. Garden Association club houses and lively social gatherings define the image of allotment gardens, which thereby serve for Leipzig’s workers as a counterweight to their alienating factory jobs.

You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Kneipe und Kleingarten


Die Kneipe zwischen Voraussetzung und Verhängnis für die Arbeiter*innenbewegung

Seit Entstehung des Kaiserreichs sind Kneipen für die Leipziger Arbeiter*innen die wichtigsten Orte für Geselligkeit, Kommunikation und politische Öffentlichkeit. Sie dienen als alternatives Wohnzimmer und stellen Gesangs-, Bildungs- und Turnvereinen die notwendigen Räumlichkeiten zur Verfügung. Durch sie werden Gemeinschafts- und Zugehörigkeitsgefühl, Berufs- und Nachbarschaftsbeziehungen manifestiert und reproduziert. Die Kneipen tragen durch die in ihnen dominierenden kollektiven Verhaltensmuster dazu bei, soziale Identität zu definieren und zu konstituieren. Bis zur Fertigstellung des Leipziger Volkshaus-Gebäudes in der heutigen Karl-Liebknecht-Straße im Jahre 1906 und der feierlichen Einweihung des Erweiterungsbaus am 1. Mai 1923 mit über 40.000 Teilnehmer*innen ist das Treffen in Kneipen und größeren Gaststätten auch für gewerkschaftliche und sozialdemokratische Organisation eine Voraussetzung.

Doch die Kneipe ist keine unproblematische soziokulturelle Institution. Obwohl Frauen nicht gänzlich aus der männlich dominierten sowie eingeschränkt öffentlichen Sphäre der Kneipe ausgeschlossen sind und als Wirtinnen des Öfteren sogar wichtige Positionen einnehmen, bleibt ihnen meist die Möglichkeit zur Partizipation vorenthalten. Das patriarchale Geschlechterverhältnis wird hierdurch stabilisiert und die Frauen als wichtigste potenzielle Komplizinnen ausgeschlossen. Ebenso ausgegrenzt werden all jene, die der Arbeiter*innenbewegung kritisch oder feindselig gegenüberstehen oder nicht mit den spezifischen Verhaltensmustern der Kneipen vertraut sind.

Leipziger Gaststätten in der Revolution

Während der Revolutionszeit dienen Gaststätten als Versammlungsorte der revolutionären Gruppen, als Informationsbörsen und als Poststellen. Bereits im April 1917 treffen sich 10.000 streikende Metall- und Rüstungsarbeiter*innen im „Brauereigarten“ in Stötteritz. Sie gründen hier den ersten deutschen Arbeiter*innenrat. Im Winter 1918/19 findet die revolutionäre Matrosenkompanie ihr Quartier im „Tivoli“ in der Windmühlenstraße und im „Deutschen Haus“ trifft sich im Dezember 1918 der Große Arbeiter- und Soldatenrat, auch im „Centraltheater“ werden Sitzungen abgehalten. 1919 bietet die „Katerschenke“ in der heutigen Merseburger Straße der Freien-Sozialistischen Jugend ein Lokal. Der „Goldene Stern“ in der heutigen Bornaischen Straße ist im März 1920 Standquartier gegen den Kapp-Putsch und zwischen 1920 und 1930 findet die neu gegründete Rote Hilfe ihren Sitz im „Metropol“ in der Gottschedstraße. Am 14. Mai 1920 spricht die Frauenrechtlerin und kommunistische Politikerin Clara Zetkin im Plagwitzer „Felsenkeller“ und die „Himmelsleiter“ in der heutigen Industriestraße ist während der Märzkämpfe 1921 zentrale Kurierstelle.

Neue freie Zeit

Durch das revolutionäre Erkämpfen des Achtstundentags und des Urlaubsanspruchs werden neue Freizeitaktivitäten möglich. Der nun längere Feierabend und das um den Samstagnachmittag erweiterte Wochenende machen Erholung und Vergnügen zum alltäglichen Bedürfnis. Auch die Zunahme an Mobilität und die Verbesserung der Wohnverhältnisse verändern in der Weimarer Republik allmählich die Möglichkeiten der Freizeitgestaltung. Kinobesuche, Ausflüge ‚ins Grüne‘ und Kleingartentätigkeit erfreuen sich großer Beliebtheit. Die Kleingärten werden zu einem Mittelpunkt des Lebens nach dem Feierabend. Leipzig ist die Hochburg des Kleingartenwesens: 1923 existieren 114 Kleingartenvereine mit über 25.000 Mitgliedern. Eigene Vereinshäuser und gesellige Abende bestimmen das Bild der Kleingärten. Damit bilden sie für Arbeiter*innen einen Gegenpol zur entfremdenden Fabrikarbeit.