You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Art and Culture


The Revolution and Cultural Optimism

Many artists and people involved in cultural projects place themselves in the service of the revolution and creatively transpose their vision for a better society. The Bauhaus arises during the Weimar Republic and the new-art movement of modernism. However, cultural education and activities do not only take place in bourgeois and artistic circles. The gradual reduction of weekly working hours is being fought for, concurrently, the possibilities for leisure activities are also growing rapidly for workers. In the Kaiserreich, sport activities and steadily increasing cultural opportunities for workers are still limited to Sundays and due to the Anti-Socialist Laws, these limitations serve above all forbidden political party organization under the guise of social gatherings. However, after the abolition of the Anti-Socialist Laws in 1890, and with the revolutionary awakening in 1918, Leipzig's workers' education associations and the organization of a workers' culture experience a boom in which educational opportunities, especially for workers, are increasingly extended to after work and to almost every area of culture.e, mit der sich Bildungsangebote speziell für Arbeiter*innen zusehends auf den Feierabend und auf nahezu jeden Zweig der Kultur ausdehnen.

A New Year's Concert to Celebrate the Revolution

The political upheaval is followed by a cultural one which is exemplified in Leipzig at the transition from 1918 to 1919. Despite bourgeois protests, a New Year's Eve concert is given in the Krystallpalast (Crystal Palace) on the initiative of the Leipzig "Arbeiter-Bildungs-Institut" (Workers' Education Institute) to celebrate the revolution. In front of 2,500 people, mostly workers, the Gewandhaus Orchestra and the city’s choirs play Beethoven's "Ninth Symphony" and welcome the first year of peace. The final chorus begins punctually at midnight with the "Ode to Joy". This success is appreciated even by the bourgeois press and establishes the tradition of the New Year's Concerts, a tradition which is alive and well today.

Culture for All!

Thanks to the organizational talent of the Workers' Education Association, more and more workers and employees are being introduced to the so-called "fine arts". The Volksbühnen (People's Theater) Movement hosts its own performances in Leipzig's Volkshaus, the central cultural institution and the "shrine" of Leipzig’s workers. Even in the large bourgeois-municipal houses, theater and music events are performed in front of a proletarian audience. For example, between 1919 and 1923, the Workers' Education Institute, founded in 1907, organizes over 75 concerts in the Gewandhaus, which are attended by more than 85,000 workers. Until then, the city's Concert Hall had been considered the epitome of bourgeois culture and had previously been open exclusively to a bourgeois audience. Although the opening of the Gewandhaus to workers has a high symbolic value for their integration into the world of 'high' art and culture, the gap between bourgeois and proletarian milieus is far from being bridged. The Gewandhaus is only accessible to workers for their private events, separated from the bourgeoisie, while to the bourgeoisie, the Gewandhaus is open at all times. Furthermore, the opening of the existing cultural institutions to workers cannot hide the fact that the goal of creating a specifically proletarian art and counterculture has been neglected by the workers themselves. The outstanding achievement of the diverse workers' education initiatives and organizations is in fact the transmission of the "fine arts" and the integration of workers into bourgeois culture.

From the Workers' Libraries to the Adult Education Center

Social Democratic adult education is not only successful in the fields of music and theater. The teaching of political and economic knowledge has also reached a new high point in Leipzig, the trade fair city. In addition to the central workers' library in the Volkshaus and the more than 50 self-organized book and reading rooms already in existence throughout the city, more and more so-called "Bücherhallen" (Book Halls) have been built since the beginning of the war, open to members of all classes. Along with the Volksbibliotheken (people’s libraries), these are the forerunners of today's municipal libraries. Together with the Volkshochschule (People’s Community College), founded in 1922, cross-party and democratic adult education is being created, known as the "Leipzig Direction", and is unparalleled in Germany.

You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Kunst und Kultur


Die Revolution und der kulturelle Aufbruch

Viele Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffende stellen sich in den Dienst der Revolution und setzen ihre Visionen von einer besseren Gesellschaft kreativ um. Mit der Weimarer Republik entstehen das Bauhaus und die neuen künstlerischen Strömungen der Moderne. Doch die kulturelle Bildung und Betätigung findet nicht nur in bürgerlichen und künstlerischen Kreisen statt. In dem Maße, wie die stufenweise Herabsetzung der Wochenarbeitszeit erkämpft wird, wachsen die Möglichkeiten der Freizeitgestaltung auch für Arbeiter*innen rasant an. Im Kaiserreich ist die sportliche und zunehmend auch kulturelle Betätigung für Arbeiter*innen noch auf die Sonntage beschränkt und dient während der Zeit des Sozialistengesetzes vor allem der verbotenen Parteiorganisation unter dem Deckmantel der geselligen Zusammenkunft. Doch nach der Aufhebung des "Gesetzes gegen die gemeingefährlichen Bestrebungen der Sozialdemokratie" 1890 und mit dem revolutionären Aufbruch ab 1918 erfahren Leipziger Arbeiter*innenbildungsvereine und die Organisation der Arbeiter*innenkultur eine Blüte, mit der sich Bildungsangebote speziell für Arbeiter*innen zusehends auf den Feierabend und auf nahezu jeden Zweig der Kultur ausdehnen.

Ein Silvesterkonzert zur Feier der Revolution

Der politischen folgt eine kulturelle Umwälzung, die sich in Leipzig exemplarisch am Übergang des Jahres 1918 zu 1919 zeigt. Trotz bürgerlicher Proteste wird im Krystallpalast auf Initiative des Leipziger "Arbeiter-Bildungs-Institut" ein Silvesterkonzert zur Feier der Revolution gegeben. Vor zweieinhalbtausend Menschen, überwiegend Arbeiter*innen, spielen das Gewandhausorchester und städtische Chöre Beethovens "Neunte" und begrüßen das erste Jahr des Friedens. Pünktlich um Mitternacht setzt der Schlusschor mit der Ode "An die Freude" an. Dieser Erfolg wird selbst von der bürgerlichen Presse gewürdigt und begründet die bis heute lebendige Tradition der Neujahrskonzerte.

Kultur für alle!

Dank des organisatorischen Talents der Arbeiterbildungsvereine werden immer mehr Arbeiter*innen und Angestellte an die sogenannte "hohe Kunst" herangeführt. Die Volksbühnenbewegung veranstaltet eigene Aufführungen im Leipziger Volkshaus, der zentralen Kulturinstitution und dem "Heiligtum" der Leipziger Arbeiter*innen. Selbst in den großen bürgerlich-städtischen Häusern werden nun vermehrt Theater- und Musikveranstaltungen vor einem proletarischen Publikum gezeigt. So organisiert das 1907 gegründete Arbeiterbildungsinstitut zwischen 1919 und 1923 über 75 Konzerte im Gewandhaus, die von mehr als 85.000 Arbeiter*innen besucht werden. Das Konzerthaus der Messestadt gilt bis dahin als Inbegriff der bürgerlichen Kultur, das vormals ausschließlich einem bürgerlichen Publikum offen stand. Wenngleich die Öffnung des Gewandhauses für Arbeiter*innen einen hohen symbolischen Wert für die Integration in die Welt der "hohen" Kunst und Kultur besitzt, ist der Graben zwischen bürgerlichen und proletarischem Milieu damit noch lange nicht überbrückt. Denn das Gewandhaus ist den Arbeiter*innen nur in geschlossenen Veranstaltungen und separiert vom Bürgertum zugänglich, während es dem Bürgertum zu allen Tagen offen steht. Ferner kann die Öffnung der bestehenden kulturellen Einrichtungen für Arbeiter*innen nicht darüber hinwegtäuschen, dass das angestrebte Ziel der Schaffung einer spezifisch proletarischen Kunst und Sub- oder Gegenkultur durch die Arbeiter*innen selbst verfehlt wird. Vielmehr besteht die herausragende Leistung der verschiedenen Arbeiterbildungsinitiativen und -organisationen in der Vermittlung der "hohen Künste" und der Integration der Arbeiter*innen in die bürgerliche Kultur.

Von den Arbeiterbibliotheken zur Volkshochschule

Nicht nur auf dem Gebiet der Musik und des Theaters feiert die sozialdemokratische Erwachsenenbildung Erfolge, auch die Vermittlung von politischem und wirtschaftlichem Wissen erreicht in der Messestadt einen weiteren Höhepunkt. Neben der zentralen Arbeiterbibliothek im Volkshaus und den bereits bestehenden über 50 SPD-Bibliotheken im gesamten Stadtgebiet entstehen seit Kriegsbeginn immer mehr der sogenannten "Bücherhallen", die den Angehörigen aller Klassen offenstehen. Neben den Volksbibliotheken bilden diese die Vorläufer der heutigen Stadtbüchereien. Gemeinsam mit der 1922 gegründeten Volkshochschule entsteht damit eine parteiübergreifende und demokratische Erwachsenenbildung, die als "Leipziger Richtung" der Volksbildungsarbeit bezeichnet wird und in Deutschland ihresgleichen sucht.