You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Peace, Security and Order in the Revolution of 1918/19


Uncertain situation

The revolution is proclaimed in Leipzig on November 9th, 1918. However, the situation in the city requires the local Workers' and Soldiers' Council to take a cautious approach: Winter is coming and the supply of food and fuel is uncertain. Riots and looting are a danger. The great upheaval in the local administration and police force therefore does not happen. Using the local and national press, the revolutionaries are calling for prudence. In addition, the Workers' and Soldiers' Council rapidly sets up its own security service in mid-November, 1918. Marked with red armbands, this security service patrols rallies and demonstrations and ensures peace and order in the city.

Police: Symbol of the old order, necessary for the new order?

For workers, the police are primarily an instrument of the state, in previous times, also responsible for controlling and fighting social-democratic politics. Therefore, the political department of the Leipzig police force is soon dissolved by the Leipzig Workers' and Soldiers' Council, similar to what happened in other cities of the German Reich. However, in 1918/19, fears of hardship and unrest mean that there is hardly any further intervention. Leipzig's police director Friedrich Louis Wagler remains in office until spring, 1919, as do most of the police officers. The revolutionaries limit themselves to controlling the police. The Workers' and Soldiers' Council sends Johann Scheib to control the affairs of the police director and puts the Schutzpolizei (Security Police, responsible for police service on the streets), under the control of its own security service. In 1919, the influence of the Workers' and Soldiers' Council is reduced once again, allowing comprehensive police reforms to take place only at the beginning of the 1920s.

Self-help attempts of Leipzig residents

The revolutionary situation should by no means turn into chaos, since the well-being and life of people in Leipzig depends directly on the maintenance of security and an adequate supply of provisions. There are various initiatives, both in the bourgeoisie and among the workers, to set up groups, working alongside the police, to ensure peace, security and order. There are similar developments in the other municipalities and cities of the German Reich.

In December, 1918, a so-called “White Guard”, consisting mainly of university students, is established to provide protection for property and people in the interests of the bourgeoisie. These privileged citizens cannot only lose political prerogatives as a result of the revolution, but also they tangibly fear for their estates being plundered, for property damage and violence.

The Volkswehr (People's Army) which the Leipzig Workers' and Soldiers' Council wanted to form in March, 1919, is already pursuing goals other than simply maintaining peace and security. The Volkswehr is an attempt by the revolutionaries to push the revolution further and realize the idea of a socialist republic. Because the city is considered one of the last revolutionary strongholds which wants to prevent political development towards a parliamentary republic, it was threatened with occupation by combined troops of Freikorps soldiers under the command of General Maercker in early summer, 1919. The Volkswehr is said to be ready on call, to defend the city with a force of arms if necessary. At the beginning of May, 1919, the Landesjägerkorps under Maercker actually does march into the city but does not experience any resistance. The formation of the Leipzig Volkswehr barely gets beyond the initial idea. Volunteers are too hesitant to volunteer due to the brutal measures taken by the Freikorps in other cities, such as Halle.

You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Ruhe, Sicherheit und Ordnung in der Revolution 1918/19


Unsichere Lage

Die Revolution wird am 9. November 1918 in Leipzig ausgerufen. Doch die Lage in der Stadt erfordert vom örtlichen Arbeiter- und Soldatenrat ein vorsichtiges Vorgehen: Der Winter steht kurz bevor und die Versorgung mit Lebensmitteln und Brennstoffen ist ungewiss. Ausschreitungen und Plünderungen sind eine Gefahr. Der große Umsturz in der örtlichen Verwaltung und Polizei bleibt daher aus. Die Revolutionäre rufen über die Presse zur Besonnenheit auf. Außerdem gründet der Arbeiter- und Soldatenrat bereits Mitte November 1918 einen eigenen Sicherheitsdienst. Mit roten Armbinden gekennzeichnet patrouilliert diese Sicherheitswehr auf Kundgebungen und Demonstrationen und sorgt in der Stadt für Ruhe und Ordnung.

Polizei – Sinnbild der alten Ordnung, notwendig für die neue Ordnung?

Bei Arbeiter*innen gilt die Polizei vor allem als ein obrigkeitsstaatliches Instrument, vormals auch zuständig für die Kontrolle und Bekämpfung sozialdemokratischer Politik. Die politische Abteilung der Leipziger Polizei löst der Leipziger Arbeiter- und Soldatenrat daher bald auf, ähnlich wie dies auch in anderen Städten des Deutschen Reiches geschieht. Doch 1918/19 gibt es aufgrund der Furcht vor Not und Unruhen kaum weitergehende Eingriffe. Der Leipziger Polizeidirektor Friedrich Louis Wagler bleibt bis zum Frühjahr 1919 im Amt, ebenso wie die meisten Polizisten im Dienst bleiben. Die Revolutionäre beschränken sich auf die Kontrolle der Polizei. Der Arbeiter- und Soldatenrat entsendet Johann Scheib, um die Geschäfte des Polizeidirektors zu kontrollieren und unterstellt die Schutzpolizei, verantwortlich für den Polizeidienst auf der Straße, dem eigenen Sicherheitsdienst. 1919 wird der Einfluss des Arbeiter- und Soldatenrates wieder zurückgebaut, umfassende Polizeireformen werden erst Anfang der 1920er Jahre erfolgen.

Selbsthilfeversuche der Leipziger Bevölkerung

Die revolutionäre Situation soll keinesfalls in Chaos umschlagen, da unmittelbar das Wohl und Leben von Menschen in Leipzig von der Aufrechterhaltung der Sicherheit und Versorgung abhängt. Sowohl im Bürgertum als auch bei den Arbeiter*innen gibt es verschiedene Initiativen, um Gruppen aufzustellen, die neben der Polizei für Ruhe, Sicherheit und Ordnung sorgen sollen. Vergleichbare Entwicklungen gibt es auch in den anderen Gemeinden und Städten des Deutschen Reiches.

Im Dezember 1918 bildet sich überwiegend aus Studierenden der Universität eine sogenannte „Weiße Garde“, die im Sinne des Bürgertums Schutz für Eigentum und Personen gewähren soll. Die Bürger*innen können durch die Revolution nicht nur politische Vorrechte verlieren, ganz konkret ist die Angst vor Plünderungen bürgerlichen Besitzes, vor Sachbeschädigungen und Gewalt.

Die Volkswehr, deren Bildung der Leipziger Arbeiter- und Soldatenrat im März 1919 anstrebt, verfolgt dagegen bereits andere Ziele als nur die Bewahrung der Ruhe und Sicherheit. Die Volkswehr ist ein Versuch der Revolutionäre, die Revolution weiter zu treiben und die Idee einer sozialistischen Republik zu verwirklichen. Weil die Stadt im Frühsommer 1919 als eine der letzten Hochburgen der Revolutionäre gilt, die mit ihrem Rätesystem eine politische Alternative zu der mehrheitssozialdemokratisch forcierten politischen Entwicklung hin zu einer parlamentarischen Republik darstellt, droht die Besetzung durch einen Freikorpsverband unter General Maercker. Die Volkswehr soll auf Abruf bereit sein, um die Stadt notfalls mit Waffengewalt zu verteidigen. Anfang Mai 1919 marschiert das Landesjägerkorps unter Maercker tatsächlich in der Stadt ein, Widerstand schlägt ihnen jedoch nicht entgegen. Die Bildung der Leipziger Volkswehr ist kaum über die erste Idee hinausgekommen. Zu zögerlich haben sich Freiwillige gemeldet, zu abschreckend ist das harte Vorgehen der Freikorps in anderen Städten, wie zum Beispiel Halle.