You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Proclamation of the Free State of Saxony


The Proclamation of the Free State of Saxony in the wake of the 1918 Revolution, is what Saxony’s workers demand for decades before. They decisively influence, through democratic and socialist self-organization, the path of German workers towards a social-democratic mass party, starting with the foundation of the General German Workers' Association (Allgemeiner Deutscher Arbeiterverein, ADAV) in 1863 in Leipzig, initiated by Ferdinand Lassalle, and the left-liberal-socialist Saxon People's Party (Sächsische Volkspartei) in 1866 in Chemnitz, by Wilhelm Liebknecht and August Bebel, among others, resulting in one of the biggest political parties of its time and a counter-culture whose diverse associations and initiatives include, educate and empower most workers.

War and Revolution

From 1916, not only in Saxony mostly women and young people protest against hunger and war, from 1917 workers go on mass strike several times. The first workers' councils are formed for strike coordination, because the Social Democratic and union leadership, now as part of the state apparatus, agitate against the strikers. From summer of 1918, masses of workers leave the Social Democratic Party (SPD) and join the Independent Social Democrats (USPD). Miners start wildcat strikes, and on September 14th there is a hunger demonstration of 20,000 people in Dresden.

The revolution begins on November 6th with the mutiny of an air barracks in Großenhain. The Unified Revolutionary Workers' and Soldiers' Council of Dresden proclaims the Free State and raises a red flag atop the Royal Palace. The King abdicates three days later, famously saying: (“If you think you can do it better, then go do your shit on your own!”The Council's first official government declaration "To the Saxon People!" places the Free State in the framework of “the transition epoch from the capitalist towards the socialist social order” and of a “unified German People’s Republic”. It declares the separation of church and state, the eight-hour workday and promises the “abolition of any income based on exploitation”.

Struggles for Councils and Socialization

While across Germany the de-facto ruling SPD leadership disempowers the councils by political maneuvre and increasingly brutal military force and delays the demanded socialization of the industry indefinitely, Saxon workers participate in protests and strikes against it, from the biggest cities to dozens of smaller towns, for example in reaction to the massacre of Wettiner Platz in Dresden on January 10th, 1919, when a peaceful demonstration in front of the printshop of Social Democratic newspaper "Dresdner Volkszeitung" (Dresden People’s Newspaper) was shot at, killing 14 and wounding more than 50.

Against the Coup

At the beginning of the counter-revolutionary military coup in March 1920 (Kapp-Lüttwitz-Putsch) again 40 protesters in Leipzig and 60 in Dresden die from shots into the crowds. Saxon workers not only join the General Strike but also increase their efforts to rearm themselves and break the state of siege that had, with little interruption, been in effect in most of Germany for a year by that time.

In Chemnitz, the Volunteer Regiment of the Army is disarmed, political prisoners are freed and a workers' militia is set up. In Plauen, workers surround army trucks and confiscate the weapons. In Leipzig, workers encircle under heavy fire army and student volunteers in a garrison and the university. The workers build barricades and arm themselves by raiding fraternity houses, additional weapons are sent from workers in nearby Halle and the rifle factories in Suhl, Thuringia. Self-arming of the workers and disarming of putschists and pro-coup militias is successful in towns like Borna, Frankenberg, Hermsdorf, Hohenstein-Ernstthal, Mügeln (today's part of Heidenau), Oschatz, Pirna, Riesa, Wurzen, and Zeithain.

After the Coup: Terror

Although the coup can be thwarted by the countrywide General Strike of more than ten million workers and by the militant resistance of thousands, the success is short-lived. Many of the putschist units are immediately sent by the Imperial government, as in 1919, to suppress the striking and revolting workers. Dozens of later Nazis are strongly shaped by the participation in these excesses of violence that kill thousands. After the reconquest of the Ruhr, last in early April the Red Guards are driven from the Vogtland area in Saxony. In some towns the workers remained under arms for months to come, such in Pirna. USPD and, from the beginning of 1919, the communist KPD grow bigger and stronger and join forces but break apart again over the orientation towards Bolshevism. In 1921, the Märzkämpfe (March Struggles) in Central Germany also affect Saxony

The End of the Revolution

The revolution only comes to an end in autumn of 1923 when the elected SPD and KPD regional government of Saxony that considers itself a bulwark against the more and more fascist counter-revolution is removed by the invading Imperial army (Reichswehr). The planned last insurrection for the socialization of the industry and the disempowerment of the military is cancelled but smaller skirmishes and strikes occur that are crushed by the Imperial army.

You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Die Ausrufung des Freistaats Sachsen


Die Ausrufung des Freistaats Sachsen im Zuge der 1918 ausbrechenden Revolution verwirklicht, was sächsische Arbeitskräfte zuvor jahrzehntelang fordern. Diese prägen in demokratischer und sozialistischer Selbstorganisation entscheidend den Weg der deutschen Arbeiter*innenbewegung zur sozialdemokratischen Massenpartei, angefangen mit der Gründung des Allgemeinen Deutschen Arbeitervereins 1863 in Leipzig, maßgeblich betrieben von Ferdinand Lassalle, und der linksliberal-sozialistischen Sächsischen Volkspartei 1866 in Chemnitz, u.a. durch Wilhelm Liebknecht und August Bebel, mündend in einer der größten politischen Parteien ihrer Zeit und in einer Gegenkultur, die mit ihren vielfältigen Vereinen und Initiativen die meisten Arbeitskräfte erfasst, bildet und ermächtigt.

Krieg und Revolution

Ab 1916 protestieren nicht nur in Sachsen vor allem Frauen und Jugendliche gegen Hunger und Krieg, ab 1917 wird mehrmals gestreikt. Die ersten Räte bilden sich als Streikleitungen, da SPD-Führung und Gewerkschaften nun als Teil des Staatsapparats gegen Streikende hetzen. Ab Sommer 1918 verlassen massenhaft Arbeiter*innen die SPD und treten zur USPD über. Es gibt wilde Streiks im Bergbau und am 14. September eine Hungerdemonstration von 20.000 Menschen in Dresden.

Die Revolution beginnt in Sachsen am 6. November mit der Meuterei einer Fliegerkaserne in Großenhain. Der Vereinigte Revolutionäre Arbeiter- und Soldatenrat von Dresden ruft am 10. November den Freistaat aus und hisst eine rote Fahne auf dem Residenzschloss. Der König dankt drei Tage später mit den Worten ab: „Dann macht doch euern Dreck alleene!“ In seiner ersten Regierungserklärung "An das sächsische Volk!" stellt der Rat den Freistaat in den Rahmen der „Epoche des Übergangs von der kapitalistischen in die sozialistische Gesellschaftsordnung“ und einer „einheitlichen deutschen Volksrepublik“. Er verkündet die Trennung von Kirche und Staat, den Achtstundentag und verspricht die „Beseitigung jedes auf Ausbeutung beruhenden Einkommens“.

Kämpfe um Räte und Sozialisierung

Während reichsweit die de-facto regierende SPD-Führung die Räte in den folgenden Monaten durch politische Manöver und schließlich immer brutalere militärische Gewalt entmachtet und die geforderte Vergesellschaftung der Großbetriebe verschleppt, beteiligen sich sächsische Arbeitskräfte von den Großstädten bis in Dutzende Kleinstädte an Protesten und Streiks dagegen, so etwa in Reaktion auf das Massaker vom Wettiner Platz in Dresden am 10. Januar 1919, als bei einer friedlichen Massendemonstration vor der Druckerei der sozialdemokratischen „Dresdner Volkszeitung“ 14 Demonstrant*innen erschossen und über 50 verletzt werden.

Abwehr des Kapp-Lüttwitz-Putsches

Als zu Beginn des konterrevolutionären Kapp-Lüttwitz-Militärputsches im März 1920 wieder 40 Protestierende in Leipzig und 60 in Dresden durch Schüsse in die Menge massakriert werden, treten die sächsischen Arbeitskräfte nicht nur mit in den Generalstreik ein, sondern es wachsen auch die Anstrengungen, sich wieder selbst zu bewaffnen und den Ausnahmezustand zu brechen, der seit einem Jahr nur mit kurzen Unterbrechungen in weiten Teilen des Reiches bestanden hatte.

In Chemnitz werden die Zeitfreiwilligen der Reichswehr entwaffnet, politische Gefangene befreit und eine Arbeiterwehr aufgestellt. In Plauen umzingeln Arbeiter*innen Reichswehr-Lkws und beschlagnahmen die Waffen. In Leipzig kesseln Arbeiter*innen unter andauernden Feuergefechten die Reichswehr und Zeitfreiwilligenverbände in einer Kaserne und in der Universität. Die Arbeiter*innen bauen Barrikaden und bewaffnen sich durch Hausdurchsuchungen bei Zeitfreiwilligen und in Studentenverbindungshäusern, zusätzlich kommen Waffen aus Halle und den Gewehrfabriken in Suhl. Selbstbewaffnung und Entwaffnung von Putscheinheiten und Einwohnerwehren gelingt u.a. in Borna, Frankenberg, Hermsdorf, Hohenstein-Ernstthal, Mügeln (der heutige Teil von Heidenau), Oschatz, Pirna, Riesa, Wurzen und Zeithain.

Nach dem Putsch: Terror

Auch wenn der Putsch selbst durch den reichsweiten Generalstreik von mehr als zehn Millionen und die militante Gegenwehr von Tausenden vereitelt werden kann, ist der Erfolg von kurzer Dauer. Viele der Putschtruppen werden wie 1919 sofort von der Reichsregierung gegen die streikenden und aufständischen Arbeitskräfte eingesetzt. Für Dutzende spätere Nazis ist die Teilnahme an diesen Gewaltexzessen, denen im Auftrag der Regierung Tausende zum Opfer fallen, prägend. Nach der Rückeroberung des Ruhrgebiets durch die Reichswehr werden zuletzt Anfang April die Roten Garden um Max Hoelz aus dem Vogtland vertrieben. In manchen Städten bleiben die Arbeiter*innen jedoch noch monatelang bewaffnet, so in Pirna. USPD und seit 1919 die kommunistische KPD wachsen und gehen nun mehr und mehr zusammen, brechen aber über die Frage der Orientierung an den Bolschewiki wieder auseinander. 1921 erfassen die Märzkämpfe in Mitteldeutschland auch Sachsen.

Das Ende der Revolution

Zum Ende kommt die Revolution erst im Herbst 1923, als die gewählte Landesregierung aus SPD und KPD, die sich als Bollwerk gegen die immer deutlicher faschistische Konterrevolution versteht, durch die einmarschierende Reichswehr abgesetzt wird. Der geplante letzte Aufstand für die Vergesellschaftung der Produktionsmittel und die Entmachtung des Militärs wird zwar abgesagt, doch kommt es zu Einzelaktionen und Streiks, die von der Reichswehr gewaltsam unterdrückt werden.