You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Leipzig 1918-1923


November 1918 – Soldiers and sailors on leave refuse to return to the front. They march from the Main Railway Station to Connewitz in order to disarm the soldiers on duty there and to win them over to their cause. In the Volkshaus, the first Soldiers’ Council is voted in, which leads to mass demonstrations. The Leipziger Volkszeitung (Leipzig People’s Newspaper) prints the headline “World Revolution Spreads”.

January 1919 - Founding of the first Saxon KPD local group in the “Coburger Bierhallen” on the Brühl which attracts a large number of onlookers.

January 1919 - When a military transport is denied passage to Berlin, there is a violent exchange of fire between the Workers' and Soldiers' Council and Reichswehr troops at the Leipzig-Leutzsch railway station, in which four soldiers and two insurgents are killed. The troops are then disarmed and the Leipzig Council Republic has its first revolutionary martyrs.

February/March 1919 – Leipzig’s workers, male and female, join in a trans-regional general strike for the socialization of companies and factories. Bourgeois citizens, public servants and officials enter a counter-strike. The Workers’ and Soldiers’ Council extorts nearly 400,000 Reichsmark from Leipzig’s mayor for the strike fund.

May 1919 – A power struggle takes place between the bourgeois City Council and the Workers’ and Soldiers’ Council. The conflict between Dresden’s government and council-administered Leipzig comes to a head. A state of siege is declared for the entire state of Saxony. Volunteer paramilitary troops (Freikorps) march into Leipzig and force the capitulation of the revolutionaries.

November 1919 - The city takes over the tram which had previously been merged and makes it into a municipal company. Two years later the Zoological Garden is also transferred into municipal ownership

1919 - Religious education is replaced at the Saxon elementary schools with the subject "Life Studies".

March 1920 – Kapp-Coup: Across Germany, generals of the German army attempt a counter-revolutionary coup. They are supported by the Freikorps, bourgeois militias (“Einwohnerwehren”) and a volunteer student regiment. The coup is held off by decisive street battles and a general strike. Despite this, Richard Lipinski, at that time chairman of the Leipzig USPD, capitulated to the Reichswehr on his own and without the knowledge of the struggling workers. Thus, he clears the way for the opponents of the revolution to later fight the uprisings in the Ruhr Area and the Vogtland. The result for Leipzig: 150 dead and a completely destroyed Volkshaus.

March 1921 – Mainly extra-parliamentary left-wing radicals attempt an armed rebellion during the March conflicts in central Germany, which fails.

July 1922 - The First Workers-Gymnastics-Sports Festival takes place in Leipzig with 100,000 participants.

1923 – Inflation drives food prices sky high. In March, a loaf of bread costs 360 Mark, by autumn, 11 million. Hunger riots and plundering take place more often and are brutally stopped by the police.

March 1923 - Leipzig-Mockau Airport, completed in 1913, is reopened after extensive modernization by the first Imperial President Friedrich Ebert as a "World Airport".

October 1923 – In Saxony, the last communist attempt at a revolution during the Weimar Republic happens in the “German October” (Deutscher Oktober). The German army marches into Leipzig and the Saxon coalition of SPD and KPD is discharged by the Imperial government (Reichsregierung).

You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Leipzig 1918-1923


November 1918 – Soldaten und Matrosen im Heimaturlaub weigern sich, zurück an die Front zu fahren. Sie ziehen vom Hauptbahnhof nach Connewitz, um dort stationierte Soldaten zu entwaffnen und für ihre Sache zu gewinnen. Im Volkshaus wird der erste Soldatenrat gewählt und es kommt zu Massendemonstrationen. Die Leipziger Volkszeitung titelt: „Ausbreitung der Weltrevolution.“

Januar 1919 – Gründung der ersten sächsischen KPD-Ortsgruppe in den „Coburger Bierhallen“ am Brühl mit viel Zulauf.

Januar 1919 – Als einem Militärtransport die Durchfahrt nach Berlin verwehrt wird, kommt es zwischen Arbeiter- und Soldatenrat und Reichswehrtruppen am Bahnhof Leipzig-Leutzsch zu einem heftigen Schusswechsel, bei dem vier Soldaten und zwei Aufständische sterben. Die Truppen werden daraufhin entwaffnet und die Leipziger Räterepublik hat ihre ersten revolutionären Märtyrer.

Februar/März 1919 – Leipziger Arbeiter*innen beteiligen sich am mitteldeutschen Generalstreik für die Vergesellschaftung von Betrieben. Gegenstreik durch Bürger*innen und städtische Beamt*innen. Der Arbeiter- und Soldatenrat erpresst fast 400.000 Reichsmark vom Oberbürgermeister für die Streikkasse.

Mai 1919 – Machtkampf zwischen bürgerlichem Stadtrat und Leipziger Arbeiter- und Soldatenrat. Der Konflikt zwischen Dresdner Regierung und dem räteverwalteten Leipzig spitzt sich zu. Ausrufung des Belagerungszustands für ganz Sachsen. Freikorpstruppen marschieren in Leipzig ein und erzwingen die Kapitulation der Revolutionäre.

November 1919 – Die Stadt übernimmt die zuvor fusionierte Straßenbahn als kommunalen Betrieb. Zwei Jahre später wird auch der Zoologische Garten in städtischen Besitz überführt.

1919 – An den sächsischen Volksschulen wird der Religionsunterricht ersetzt mit dem Fach „Lebenskunde“.

März 1920 – Kapp-Putsch: Deutschlandweit unternehmen Generäle der Reichswehr einen konterrevolutionären Putschversuch. Unterstützt werden sie von Freikorps, Einwohnerwehren und Zeitfreiwilligenregimentern aus Studenten. Der Putsch kann auch in Leipzig durch entschiedene Straßenkämpfe und einen Generalstreik aufgehalten werden. Trotz dessen kapituliert Richard Lipinski, zu dieser Zeit Vorsitzender der Leipziger USPD, eigenmächtig und ohne das Wissen der kämpfenden Arbeiter*innen vor der Reichswehr. So macht er den Revolutionsgegnern den Weg frei für die spätere Bekämpfung der Aufstände im Ruhrgebiet und im Vogtland. Das Resultat des Kapp-Putsches in Leipzig sind 150 Tote und ein völlig zerstörtes Volkshaus.

März 1921 – Hauptsächlich außerparlamentarische linksradikale Kräfte versuchen während der Märzkämpfe in Mitteldeutschland einen bewaffneten Aufstand, der jedoch scheitert.

Juli 1922 – Das 1. Arbeiter Turn- und Sportfest findet in Leipzig mit 100.000 Teilnehmer*innen statt.

1923 – Die Inflation treibt die Lebensmittelpreise in die Höhe. Kostet das Brot im März bereits 360 Mark, so sind es im Herbst ganze 11 Millionen. Immer wieder kommt es in Leipzig zu Hungerunruhen und Plünderungen, die von der Polizei brutal beendet werden.

März 1923 – Der 1913 fertiggestellte Flughafen Leipzig-Mockau wird nach umfassender Modernisierung durch den ersten Reichspräsidenten Friedrich Ebert als „Weltflughafen“ wiedereröffnet.

Oktober 1923 – In Sachsen kommt es mit dem „Deutschen Oktober“ zum letzten kommunistischen Umsturzversuch der Weimarer Republik. Die Reichswehr rückt in Leipzig ein und die sächsische Koalition aus SPD und KPD wird durch die Reichsregierung abgesetzt.